Get Involved

What We Do
TYLA is commonly referred to as the "public service arm" of the State Bar. TYLA's main purposes are to facilitate the administration of justice, foster respect for the law, and advance the role of the legal profession in serving the public. Our programs are designed to assist Texas attorneys in their practice of law and to provide public legal education services to Texans.  Please click here to view our Annual Report.

How To Become Involved
All of our programs are accomplished through the volunteer efforts of our membership, with the cooperation of our local affiliate young lawyers associations. To be an active part of TYLA, simply use our on-line registration and sign-up forms to help with a committee or project.

View Our Recent Programs and Projects

Committees

The committees of the Texas Young Lawyers Association focus primarily on Public Service and Member Service.

Online Member Services:

Chair: Sally Pretorius (sally@koonsfuller.com)

Public Service in the Community:

Chairs: Aaron Capps (acapps@GriffithDavison.com), Bill Gardner (bgardner@macdonalddevin.com)

Diversity:

Chair: Laura Docker (ldocker@belaw.com)

Competitions:

Chair: Zeke Fortenberry (zfortenberry@co.collin.tx.us)

Local Affiliates:

Dedicated to programs that assist local young lawyer bar associations in their activities that further the mission of TYLA.

Chair: Alex Yarbrough (alex.yarbrough@sprouselaw.com)

Member Outreach:

Chairs: Amber James (ajames@odessalawfirm.com), Alex Roberts (aroberts@beckredden.com)

Law Focused Education:

Chairs: Laura Pratt (lpratt@mylubbock.us), Lance Currie (lcurrie@CCSB.com)

 

You will be able to view information about each of the TYLA committees as you go through the committee selection process. However, if you have any questions about a committee please call the TYLA office at 512.427.1529.

PLEASE NOTE

The State Bar fiscal year runs from June 1 - May 31. Most committees begin their planning process during the summer months and are well underway with their organizational and implementation schedules by the end of the calendar year. Although there are several programs that continue in the Spring, you will have the most opportunity for involvement if you volunteer early.

Some committees may not be available as a selection option. TYLA Governance committee members are either elected or appointed positions. Also, some committees may close the selection option during the year if that committee has completed its project(s) or the committee has exceeded the number of volunteers required to implement its program(s).

Sign Up Today