Law Students

Law Students

Texas Tech Wins TYLA State Moot Court Competition
By: Annie Lindsley and Kent Twyman

The Texas Young Lawyers Association held its annual State Moot Court Competition from June 20-22 during the State Bar Annual Meeting in Dallas. TYLA has been hosting the competition for Texas law schools since 1975. As in the past, the competition was a resounding success.

This year’s problem was written by Zachary Hall, a staff attorney on the Third Court of Appeals. The problem, noted for its sophistication, presented a criminal issue regarding lack of probable cause and an illegal canine search.

Students from seven schools participated in the three-day event: Baylor Law School, South Texas College of Law Houston, Southern Methodist University Dedman School of Law, Texas A&M University School of Law, Texas Tech University School of Law, the Thurgood Marshall School of Law, and the University of Houston Law Center.

Texas Tech University School of Law won in the final round against Baylor Law School. The final round was presided over by the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals.

The winning advocates from Texas Tech University School of Law were Erin Garza, Jason Judd, and Brandon King. Texas Tech University School of Law’s Robert Sherwin coached the team. The runners-up from Baylor Law School were Hailey Knab, Alex Oestreich, and Katy Thompson. Hannah Brewer and Kathy A. Serr coached Baylor Law School’s team.

Awards for best brief were presented to St. Mary’s University School of Law (first), South Texas College of Law Houston (second), and Texas Tech University School of Law (third).

Awards for best speaker were given to Ryan Cunningham from South Texas College of Law Houston (first), Erin Garza from Texas Tech University School of Law (second), and Hailey Knab from Baylor Law School (third).

Thank you to all of the tremendously talented students and coaches who participated in TYLA’s State Moot Court Competition. We look forward to next year’s competition!

Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.

Submit an Article

Interested in writing an article for eNews?

Contact Us

Connect With Us