Top Story

Top Story

Texas Young Lawyers Association announces president-elect candidates

In January 2018, the Nominations Committee convened in College Station, and TYLA nominated two candidates to campaign for president-elect.

TYLA members will cast ballots April 2 to May 1, and election results will be announced May 1. The winner will serve as president from June 2019 until June 2020.

Here are the candidates in alphabetical order:

Raymond Baeza

Raymond Baeza is a trial attorney for Farmers Insurance in El Paso. He serves as the vice president of the TYLA Board of Directors and the District 14 director. He has served as a co-chair to the Law Focused Education and Public Service in the Community committees.

Baeza received the TYLA President’s Award of Merit in 2015 and 2016. He has contributed to and presented multiple TYLA programs, including: Resources for Foster Care Children, Vote America!, and I Was The First. You Can Be a Lawyer Too! He is a graduate of the LeadershipSBOT program and a Texas Bar Foundation Fellow.

Baeza is a board member of the El Paso Young Lawyers Association, serving twice as the treasurer and most recently, the vice president. In 2016, Baeza was awarded El Paso’s Outstanding Young Lawyer of the Year.

When he’s not in the courtroom, he tries to keep up with his wife, Melissa, and their 2-year-old son, Ethan.

Baeza graduated from Texas Tech University School of Law in 2010.

Victor Flores

Victor Flores is a U.S. Marine Corps Iraq War veteran. He practices government law in Denton and serves on the Texas Bar Journal Board of Editors, State Bar of Texas Government Law Council, Texas Young Lawyers Association, and ABA Young Lawyer Division Council. 

Flores has led many TYLA projects and partnerships including Vote America!, which inspires civic engagement among youth; Strength in Unity, aimed at improving police-community relations; Breaking the Silence, addressing attorney mental health; and One Love, helping students avoid abusive relationships.

He also is a Texas Bar Foundation fellow, a frequent speaker at State Bar continuing legal education programs, a mentor with Communities In Schools of North Texas, and legal counsel for his church. 

For his service to the public and the bar, Flores has received the Pedro “Pete” Serrano Leadership Award, a resolution from 2016–17 State Bar President Frank Stevenson, and TYLA’s President’s Award of Merit. 

Flores’ favorite breaks from work are date nights with his wife, Kristal, and reading bedtime stories with his son, Brennan. 

A version of this article originally appeared on the Texas Bar Blog of the State Bar of Texas.

Views and opinions expressed in eNews are those of their authors and not necessarily those of the Texas Young Lawyers Association or the State Bar of Texas.

Submit an Article

Interested in writing an article for eNews?

Contact Us

Connect With Us